A Journey Starts with the First Step

Darts hitting a target

Photo by kraphix

Like many people, I’ve been thinking lately about new year’s resolutions. Although I’m not crazy about that term, I do think it’s a good idea to sit down with yourself every so often, consider what you want to accomplish, and set realistic goals for getting there.

The article 11 Resolutions For a Better You—Proven by Science provides a great list to use as a starting point (one resolution is reading fiction, so I’m definitely on board with that!). But too often, we set ourselves up for failure by setting the wrong goals. For instance, “lose 20 pounds” isn’t an action you can take. “Reduce my calorie intake by 100 calories a day” is. It’s the small, incremental goals that lead us to achieve the big ones.

I tend to phrase my goals as “publish a novella every month” or something insane like that. I’m learning that I need to set more meaningful goals like “write 10,000 words per week.” That’s something I can work toward day by day. And if I have an unproductive day for whatever reason, I can make it up tomorrow.

My main goal in 2015 is to get organized, because that’s a first step toward achieving everything else. Given that we’re a week into the new year, and I haven’t started yet, I’m already behind. But I have crossed a few things off my to-do list, and that makes me happy. It’s a start on what I hope will be my greatest year yet!

What are your goals for 2015? How do you plan to achieve them?

About AndreaJWenger

Andrea J. Wenger is an award-winning writer and editor in Raleigh, North Carolina. She specializes in the fields of creative, technical, and freelance writing.

Posted on January 7, 2015, in Blog Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Excellent, Andrea, I like this spin on it. An action we can take.

    For me this year will be about continuing my journey of growth and maintaining inner peace. But I do have goals related to my writing. I’ve been saying for several weeks that I want to be querying my WIP to agents by the end of 2015, but as you’ve suggested, I need to break that idea down. Thanks!

  2. It’s always best to start with achievable goals, Andrea. Thanks for the reminder. My goal is to finish my current book.

  3. As Janna said, I too always try to find some type of inner peace every year. I get so stressed out about life and what’s going on inside my life as well as outside my life in the world that I have been trying to meditate every day for about 15 minutes and listen to peaceful music for about 15 minutes. It’s become a habit now and I will be continuing it. Can’t hurt, right?

  4. Andrea, I’ve set intentions for 2015, instead of goals (taken from Christine Kane’s amazing Uplevel programs). My first intention is to be more prolific, which is my word of the year, so every day, that’s my number one focus. My second intention is to complete 4 books this year, which ties in very nicely with my intention to be more prolific. 🙂

    Here’s to a productive 2015 for everyone!

