Where Did the Years Go?

It seems as though every day I’m reminded my kids are growing up and away from their youth. Recently, for example, my son announced he’s decided not to play football his senior year of high school. My husband took it like a champ–better than most dads would–as my oldest explained his reasons for walking away from a sport he loves. I’m okay with his decision and I support him one hundred percent, but it was another door closing on his childhood and I couldn’t help but feel sad.charlie flag football 2

We enrolled our now almost eighteen year old in organized sports when he was three, and we’ve enthusiastically spent every weekend at one field or another for the past fifteen years. Although he’s still playing baseball, I’m not sure how I’ll handle not seeing him on the sidelines come fall at the Friday night football games. I wonder how he’ll handle it, too. I do know he’ll learn as much from walking away from the sport as he would have by sticking it out for another year. He’s growing up and making decisions on his own and that’s a very good thing.

Besides baseball, we still have the youngest and the wonderfully entertaining sport of lacrosse, but I’ll miss the pigskin and seeing my little man in shoulder pads. What I’ll miss more than anything are the years that went by way too fast. Oh, Father Time, slow down a little, would you please?

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on January 12, 2015, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Christy – I am feeling it too! Knowing this is Alex’s last year of baseball is tearing me up inside. When he decided to not play in college, we stood by his decision. It was HIS decision. But, knowing that he is ready to start the next chapter of his life is also very exciting. (At least that’s what I keep telling myself.)

  2. Man, can I relate to this. My son graduated high school in 2012 which meant no more watching his basketball games. I still miss that SO much.

  3. I hear what you’re saying, Christy, and it’s so hard to roll with the changes without feeling sad about the loss. And yet, at some point in the future, you’ll realize that when you get grandchildren, you get to relive the good times all over again. 🙂

  4. Charlie has such a love for that sport, I am so surprised to hear this news. It was tough for me with Matt not playing this year so I feel your pain.

