Super Sunday

Are you ready for the big game this weekend?  I am!  I can’t wait for the tough tackling, the teeth gnashing, and the tail wagging. What? You don’t think there will be tail wagging?  Oh wait, I’m talking about the OTHER Bowl game on Sunday, the Puppy Bowl.  I don’t care about the Seahawks and the Patriots–really, it pains me to say it, but I just don’t this year.  I’m settling in with my fifty-five pounds of adolescent Labrador to watch bunches of puppies wrestle around on a 10×19 foot indoor football field as they tussle over a few chew toys.  It may not be as sexy as NFL football, but it’s definitely much more adorable!puppy bowl

And, you can bet there won’t be any deflated footballs.  Well, I take that back, there might be a few. Those puppies have mighty sharp teeth.  And perhaps a few stains on the ref’s shoes.  He’d probably better keep the golden cleats off the field.

TV’s Animal Planet debuted the Puppy Bowl in 2005 as a welcome alternative to all the pre-game hype of the “Big Game”.  This is the eleventh year for the canine contest of might and it’s popularity increases with each game.  Just like in Super Bowl XLIX, the Puppy Bowl XI will crown an individual MVP.  In fact, three will be selected based upon online voting in the show’s back-to-back airings starting at 3 p.m. And, in a new wrinkle this year, the fifty-five participating puppies, who come from thirty-seven shelters around the country and Puerto Rico, will also be divided into teams with the names— wait for it— Fluff and Ruff.

It gets better:  There’s a half time show.  With cats. Twenty-five of them.  And one of them–appropriately named Katty Furry–will be impersonating–you guessed it–Katy Perry.  Seriously, I can’t make this stuff up.  It’s really quite clever television.Katty Furry

Did I mention the cheerleaders?  Yep, unlike at the Super Bowl, these cheerleaders will be performing nude.  Hey! Don’t let your mind go there.  They’re dwarf Nigerian Goats.  The program is rated G, folks.

So let Tom Brady deflate his balls.  Give Bill Belichick a sweatshirt with sleeves.  Who cares if the Seahawk players mouth off on the sidelines?  Not me.  I’ll be tuned to the Puppy Bowl.  After all, I can watch the Super Bowl ads on You-Tube later.  I hear there are quite a few that feature puppies.

Which game will you be watching?  Who are you cheering for?

About Tracy Solheim

Best-selling author of the Out of Bounds series--sexy, contemporary sports romance novels. See what she's up to at www.tracysolheim.com.

Posted on January 30, 2015, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Sounds like good TV. One of our dogs actually watches TV so we’ll have to tune in!

  2. I love the Puppy Bowl and thanks for reminding me so that I can record it, because I sure as heck am not going to be able to watch it on the television. My husband and son will be hogging the t.v. the entire day!

  3. OMG, seriously? I’ve never heard of this event, Tracy, and it sounds very entertaining! 🙂

  4. We don’t have cable or satellite, so I was unable to watch the game. Which is okay with me, I’m not a huge sports fan. Still, if I’d had the capability, I’d have watched it for the halftime show and commercials, if nothing else! 🙂

