Busy (Blessed) is as Busy (Blessed) Does

Most weeks in my world are balanced and easy-paced, but then others have me gasping for breath before day one even sees high noon. These are the ones that make me go, “Ack!”

Case in point, here’s our week — and in only four days, because school was out Monday:

A detailed craft project. A presentation with costume and hair and speech, to be well planned and well practiced. Soccer registration. Class pictures. Valentine’s cards, and treats for two classrooms (because apparently I double-booked). A club meeting, for which both daughters are officers. Laundry. Meal planning and making. Regular homework. Bill paying. Following up with an organization I’d inquired of, who needs additional info. Deciding whether or not to pursue a business opportunity offered to me. That full-time job I have. Honoring the commitment I made my writing group. Being present. Quality time. Sleep. The whole nine. 

It’s not just physical motion, it’s mental work. That’s what exhausts me the most.

I’m not meaning to complain. I’m thankful. All of this means my girls are able and active. It means that I have responsibility and possibility. And I want to participate in each moment, that’s what life is about.

It’s just I can’t wait until 5 p.m. on Friday…

Do you look for the blessings amid the busy?

About Janna

writer, editor, marketing assistant, resume consultant, mom, wannabe philosopher, advocate, and possibilitarian / you can call me Janna

Posted on February 11, 2015, in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. You have to look for the blessings amid the busy or you’ll just be miserable. Enjoy every moment with your precious girls!

  2. There are days when I feel so overwhelmed and a little resentful that these types of things disrupt my writing time. But then I realize that these times with my children are a blessing. This time goes by so quickly!

  3. It does go quickly, Janna. And once your girls are grown up, trust me, you’ll be wanting to relive these busy days all over again. 🙂

  4. It’s hard to live in the moment when you’ve got so much going on, but ultimately, it’s the moments that matter. I’m working hard to make room for the blessings amid the busy. It means prioritizing what matters most to me, saying no to things I love but don’t have time for anymore, and learning what “good enough” means. It’s difficult but necessary.

  5. Sounds like we’re all agreed, ladies. 🙂

