When the Prom Isn’t About the Dance

Sun News

Sun News

Let’s face it, high school proms have been less about the actual dancing for years–maybe even decades.  Instead they’re all about the glitzy dresses (one school is actually making girls submit a photo of their dress beforehand just to ensure their appropriateness), crowded limo rides and after-party shenanigans.  But one aspect of the prom experience is relatively new and, in my opinion (I know the haters are gonna hate here) has relegated the actual prom to even more of an after thought.  I’m talking about the Promposal.  (I’m pretty sure this word evolved from the Facebook lexicon, but I’m stealing it here.)

What is up with all these elaborate Promposals?  Whatever happened to the girl who sits next to you in Chemistry telling you that so and so is going to ask you to the prom and you either give a thumbs up or a gag me, no way, thumbs down?  I can tell you what happened.  Mothers with too much time on their hands, social media and Pinterest.  (I told you the haters were going to come after me!)  Seriously, what teenage guy thinks of cordoning off a driveway with crime tape, drawing a chalk outline of a body and holding a poster that reads:  I’ll just die if you don’t go to prom with me?  In my day, that would so NOT be the guy I went to prom with.

We had two brave teenage boys ride into the estrogen charged barn this spring to leave notes on girl’s horses asking them to prom.  Was it cute?  Yes, it was.  But seriously, how are they going to make a boring old dance live up to the hype of such a thoughtful Promposal?

boomboxMy personal favorite this year (because I LOVED the movie) was a kid re-enacting John Cusack’s boom box scene from Say Anything.  The movie is older than any of the kids doing the asking, however, which probably explains why it resonated with the moms.  (Are you seeing my point?)

Worst Promposal I ever heard of:  The boy who showed up to ask a girl to prom with bouquet of flowers and–wait for it–a puppy.  Let me repeat.  A. Puppy.  Note to all the boys out there:  DO NOT show up to my house bringing a puppy for my daughter. EVER.  Now, if you want to show up with a 17-hand equitation horse, we’ll talk.

So what do you think of the Promposal?  Am I just over-reacting?  Have you heard of any cute ones?  Or crazy ones?

About Tracy Solheim

Best-selling author of the Out of Bounds series--sexy, contemporary sports romance novels. See what she's up to at www.tracysolheim.com.

Posted on April 3, 2015, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. A promposal? For reals? Somebody needs to get a life

  2. Well, it won’t let me post here! Even though I’m signed in with WordPress it still doesn’t like me. Maybe it’s been too many weeks since I commented?

  3. Okay, that worked! What I was trying to say was that my daughter and her boyfriend are going to prom and they asked each other, sort of, if s/he wanted to go. She’s wearing a dress she wore for her Sweet 16 party last October and sent him pictures of her in the dress already! I’m taking them to dinner, picking them up from dinner, driving them to San Francisco for the prom and then picking them up at midnight or whatever. That’s what happens when you don’t drive at 16 or 17 or 18 or whatever age because car insurance is too expensive and your parents can’t afford it. Now THAT’s a rip-off.

  4. The most amazing thing here is that the boys and girls call dibs on each other before any asking begins. It’s crazy. Most of my son’s friends make posters and buy flowers, but I’ve heard of some real doozies. It’s the social media impact!

