Socially Frustrated

Today’s post will be brief, as I’m socially frustrated. I’m battling cyber social circles, middle school peer pressure, opposing parenting styles, and I don’t like it. Not one bit.

facebook logoMy family has a policy. We understand our teenage children want to fit in, enjoy the normal social activities of their peers, but when it comes to Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and the like, I find there is a wide variety of opinions with regard to appropriate media behavior. Thankfully, my kids are not facing bullying. We watch for it, talk about it and are prepared for the day–should it ever cross our path. But in our family, we don’t want pictures of our children posted online. Period.

instagramI’ve posted the occasional “view from afar” or the innocuous half profile, but nothing that boasts, “Hey, look at me!” And we certainly don’t want any pictures posted of our children that are less than appropriate in any form, shape, or matter, ie. “embarrassing.” Am I alone? Am I the stodgy parent in the parent who doesn’t “get it?” This is nothing more than harmless fun between kids?

I always thought I was pretty easygoing. Strict, but understanding and accommodating. I know that sounds like an oxymoron (and some have called me worse), but I don’t know what to do. I can police my children’s behavior. It’s when it comes to their peers that I’m having a problem. Any words of wisdom?

Posted on May 11, 2015, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I have faced the same, and it is frustrating. I’ve asked my kids to ask their friends to remove the offensive photos, and usually they do. Sometimes they get huffy about it, but they get over it.

  2. Stick to your guns and do what you think is right. As Elaine said above, ask friends to remove the photos and leave it at that. You can only control you and your family. I feel for you, Dianne.

  3. Thanks for the words of wisdom. This time, the child removed the photo. Let’s hope it works next time!

  4. Dianne, you’re not alone. My brother-in-law has steadfastly refused to allow any pictures of my nieces to be posted on social media. There aren’t even any baby pictures of them. Facebook’s policy is that no one can post photos of children under 13 without their parents’ permission. Depending on the ages of your kids, chances are, the social media sites are on your side.

