Spotlight On Debut Author Jenna Sutton

I’m wrapping up book 2 in the Second Chances series, but while I was writing, I took a short break to preview a hot new book by debut author, Jenna Sutton.  The book is called ALL THE RIGHT PLACES (Berkley Sensation, June 2, 2015) and it reminds me of some early Rachel Gibson books–the ones that made me fall in love with the romance genre–with a hint of Julie James’ sophisticated banter thrown in for good measure.  I enjoyed this book so much that I wanted you all to meet Jenna Sutton, the author.  Here’s a little background on Jenna:

jsuttonauthorphotoJenna Sutton spent most of her career as an award-winning journalist covering business-related topics including healthcare, commercial real estate, retail, and technology. Nowadays she writes about hot, lovable guys and the smart, sexy women who make them crazy. It’s the culmination of a lifelong dream, and she feels so lucky to be able to do it. Jenna has a Bachelor’s degree in Journalism from Texas Christian University and a Master’s degree in Integrated Marketing Communications from Northwestern University. She and her husband live in a 103-year-old house in Texas. All the Right Places is her debut novel.

Tracy: Welcome to Women Unplugged, Jenna.  First and foremost, can you tell readers where they can find you on social media?

Jenna:
http://www.jennasutton.com
http://www.facebook.com/jennasuttonauthor
@jsuttonauthor
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/9761992.Jenna_Sutton

If someone wrote a book about you, what would the title be and why?

Insatiably Curious. My favorite words are actually questions: what, why, who, when, how, and where.

What are 5 things readers should know about you?

1. I’ve worked as a journalist for most of my career, so I have been writing for a long time… fact, not fiction.
2. I am blessed to have a fabulous husband, a loving, supportive family, and a great group of friends.
3. I started reading romance novels way too young. And though it may seem counterintuitive, I think reading romances actually kept me a virgin longer than other girls my age!
4. After a lifetime of hating sports, I suddenly love football. And I’m increasingly interested in hockey, although I’m sure all the new hockey romances have something to do with that.
5. Every time I go out to eat, the tines of my fork are uneven. It doesn’t matter if I’m eating at a casual restaurant or a five-star bistro, crooked forks always find their way to me. I see them as a sign that the universe is in balance.

What is the significance to the title ALL THE RIGHT PLACES?
The title has a double meaning. The perfect jeans fit in all the right places, and my characters touch each other in all the right places, both emotionally and physically.

Please share a few random facts about ALL THE RIGHT PLACES.

• It’s the first book I ever wrote
• It took me about nine weeks to write the manuscript, but it took two plus years for it to be published
• It’s the first in the Riley O’Brien & Co. series
• I got the idea for the book from a bumper sticker
• The fictional jeans company in ALL THE RIGHT PLACES is based on a real company. I’m sure you’ll be able to figure out which one.

What was your favorite scene to write? Why?

I had a lot of fun writing ALL THE RIGHT PLACES, but I think my favorite scene is the one where my hero, Quinn, sees the heroine, Amelia, wearing a piece of clothing made by his biggest competitor. Here are a couple of lines from that scene:

Aggression flooded his veins. He had the ridiculous thought that if Amelia wanted to brand herself with someone’s name, it damn well better be his name. He felt like pulling her down across his lap, jerking up that damn skirt, and spanking her sweet round cheeks right where his competitor’s logos were located.
Before his mind could even think about what to do next, his body moved toward her. When she saw him coming, she pivoted and darted toward the exit. He reached her just as she opened the door, slamming a palm against it and forcing it closed with a bang.
Her lush little body was sandwiched between him and the door, and he crowded even closer until she had to turn her head to the side to keep from smashing her nose. He put his mouth to her ear.
“Don’t ever wear another piece of denim that doesn’t have my name on it,” he growled.

Who would you cast in the role of your characters if your book were optioned for a movie?
I’ve always thought a scruffier, taller Henry Cavill would be a great Quinn, although his eyes need to be a little darker, the color of a blueprint. Or maybe a younger, taller James Marsden. He seems to get hotter as he ages. As for Amelia, it’s hard to cast her, but the closest I can think of is Isla Fischer, but with freckles and curlier hair.

If you could have given your characters one piece of advice before the opening pages of the book, what would it be and why?
I’d tell them to have a little faith. Both of them suffer from self-doubt, and Amelia doesn’t have faith in a lot of people.

What are you currently working on? What other released do you have planned for 2015?
Book two in the Riley O’Brien & Co. series, Coming Apart at the Seams, is scheduled for release on Dec. 1, 2015. The third book, Hanging by a Thread, is due to my editor in the fall, and it is scheduled for publication in spring 2016.

Thanks for stopping by the blog today, Jenna!  Because I loved this book so much, I’m giving away a digital copy to one random commenter.  It’s easy to win, just tell me how long you’ve had your favorite pair of jeans.  It takes me a few years to get them broken in the way I want them. 🙂

AllTheRightPlaces_hires purpleAmelia Winger is a small-town girl with big dreams of becoming a successful designer. So when she gets a gig designing accessories for denim empire Riley O’Brien & Co., it’s a dream come true. Amelia can handle the demanding job, but she isn’t quite prepared for sexy CEO Quinn O’Brien. She’s doing her best to keep things professional, but the attraction sparking between them makes it personal. And so does the secret project she’s working on behind his back…

Quinn’s not interested in the new accessories, but he is interested in the woman designing them. Amelia is smart, sexy, and talented, and he hasn’t been able to stop thinking about her since they met. Mixing business and pleasure isn’t wise, but that doesn’t stop him from coming up with excuses to spend time with her. He thinks he understands the risk he’s taking when he gets involved with Amelia. But he doesn’t know he’s risking a lot more than his heart.

About Tracy Solheim

Best-selling author of the Out of Bounds series--sexy, contemporary sports romance novels. See what she's up to at www.tracysolheim.com.

Posted on May 15, 2015, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Hi Tracy … love the interview, Jenna’s cover, and the story blurb (and as an aside, I love Rachel Gibson!). All The Right Places is totally going on my TBR list!

    Wow, I’ve had my fav pair of jeans for 10+ years. In fact, they’ve started to fray along the bottom of the leg, along the outside seams, and right below the back left pocket. I fear one day they’ll literally fall apart at the seams, but they’re so comfortable, I refuse to give them up for a newer pair. 🙂

  2. I did pull on a pair of khakis shorts that are 14 years the other day and they fit fine. Incentive jeans are pre-childbirth so I may need surgical assistance to get back in them.

    Can’t wait to read BOTH books (Yours and here)

    • Yay, Laura!! I’m hoping that a summer with no deadlines will be the incentive I need to get moving. Of course, I might spend most of it on my butt reading. 🙂

  3. jennifer schultheis

    Looks like I have a new author to add to my tbr list. Sounds like a great book. Hmmm I upgrade my jeans every year, so not long…but I’ve had my favorite hoodie for over five years 🙂

  4. Thanks for sharing your new book with Women Unplugged, Jenna! It sounds like a great read.

    I’m a clothes hoarder, so I’ve kept jeans for 10+ years, and I usually throw them away just when their style comes back into fashion.

  5. I just updated my June shopping list and added Jenna’s debut book and then saw your FB post about her book. Am looking forward to her series.

  6. Michelle Koebel

    This new series sounds awesome and I am adding it to my to be read list now.

