Are You a Re-reader?

I LOVE rereading some of the books on my keeper shelf. Recently, I was amazed to discover during a conversation with a friend and avid reader that she never rereads books–even those she adored. “There are so many books,” my friend said, “why would I reread one I’ve already read?”Books

There are so many reasons!

  • I may have forgotten more about the book than the basic plot.
  • Sometimes, I may have forgotten the plot.
  • I may have forgotten what it was that made me love the book so much that I had to keep it.
  • Rereading a favorite book allows me to not rush through the chapters in search of ‘what happens next’ and enjoy the prose.
  • I discover new aspects of the book I never realized were there before.
  • If it’s a favorite author, I can plot his/her growth as an author.
  • Figuring out what I love about a book helps me become a better writer.
  • I can fall in love with the book all over again!

My friends still wasn’t convinced, but I hold firm in my enjoyment of rereading favorite books. What about you? Do you reread? If so, why? If not, why not?

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on May 18, 2015, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Definitely a re-reader:) Especially when I read a book at a younger age, because I experience it very different when I reread a book years later!

  2. Totally agree!! Rereading makes you appreciate a book at a different angle 😀

  3. Hi Christy, there are a few books that I reread all the time. Mostly to be reminded of their simple but powerful messages. They are The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran, The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery, Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard Bach and Gifts from the Sea by Anne Morrow Lindbergh.

  4. I call them “comfort reads”. I love Judith McKnaught’s A Kingdom of Dreams, Lisa Kleypas’s Wallflower series, Suzanne Enoch’s contemporary series featuring Samantha Jellicoe and many more!

  5. I do have a bookshelf of favorite reads, Christy, but since the arrival of the ereader and the ease of buying new books online, I haven’t even looked at my favorite’s shelf. With so many new-to-me authors to try, and a constant assortment of books to chose from, I’m definitely reading new reads.

    • I, too, read a lot of new to me authors, but occasionally I’ll go back to a favorite. Like Tracy said, they are comfort reads. Hope you are well!

