Gone Fishin’

Sort of. I don’t know about you, but I never completely walk away from my job as a writer. I’m constantly checking email for updates and news from my readers. I’m working on edits and covers, marketing and all the hubbub that surrounds my business. I don’t mind it, because I enjoy every part of what I do. It’s a part of me. It’s what I choose to do.

fishing in the keys

However, this weekend I took a break and went fishing with the family. It was a treat and totally took me away from everything but the sun, the sea and time with my kids. We chartered a boat and headed for the Gulf stream outside the Florida Keys on the hunt for dolphin. It took several hours of trolling, but I have to say, being on the open water is one of my favorite things to do. I love it. Absolutely love it.

Between us, we managed to catch half a dozen. Not a huge number but the excitement was huge. Just ask my son. Even a can of soda couldn’t keep the little guy’s eyes open.

exhaustion in the keys

Of course the dinner menu called for dolphin. It was delicious!

fresh fish dinner

But then again, how can you go wrong with fresh fish? In my book, it doesn’t get any fresher. Speaking of books, perhaps I see a research fishing trip in my future? Handsome boat captain meets gorgeous fisherwoman?

Works for me!

Posted on July 13, 2015, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sounds like a great trip, Dianne! You have to take time to recharge your batteries.

  2. That sounds fantastic, Dianne, I’m glad you got to enjoy the day. Thanks for sharing the pictures, too!

