More Book Reviews!

Here are more book recommendations for your summer reading enjoyment!

Broken Chords by Carrie Elks:Broken Chords

Lara knows she should feel lucky. Married to the man of her dreams, with a gorgeous new baby, she should be enjoying her happy-ever-after. But she never expected motherhood to be so difficult, or for her life to change so dramatically. Alex has it all: hot, tattooed looks, a beautiful wife, and a band that’s finally getting noticed. A lucrative offer of a US tour should be the icing on the cake. But as he leaves the country, distance isn’t the only thing that starts to pull their relationship apart. With half a world dividing them, Alex and Lara have to battle for a marriage they once took for granted.

While I’ve never been attracted to “band guys,” there are a whole lot of people out there who are (my daughter included). What I enjoyed about this book was the realistic view of marriage and the many ways having a child changes a relationship. Despite the heady topic, this was an entertaining and sexy read. I’ll read more of Carrie Elks for sure.

Where She Went by Gayle Forman:Where She Went

It’s been three years since the devastating accident … three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life forever.
Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Julliard’s rising star and Adam is LA tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple together again, for one last night. As they explore the city that has become Mia’s home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future—and each other. Told from Adam’s point of view in the spare, lyrical prose that defined If I Stay, Where She Went explores the devastation of grief, the promise of new hope, and the flame of rekindled romance.

I read this sequel to If I Stay after reading the first book so my daughter and I could go see the movie together. Both are enjoyable reads (and, coincidentally, feature another “band guy”), but I hated how the first book ended (and the movie)! So many unanswered questions! This book wraps up all the questions about what happened when (or if) she stayed in a fast paced plot from Adam’s point of view. I love having the man’s take on things, so this book was a winner for me. If you haven’t read If I Stay, read it first for sure, or get both books together to avoid the frustration. You won’t be sorry. 

*Blurbs and Covers from authors’ websites.

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on July 20, 2015, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Thank you for the suggestions, Christy!

  2. Love ‘where she went’😊

  3. Both covers are fantastic!

  4. Thank you so much for featuring my book! I’m so glad you liked it. Carrie x

