I’m Officially a Directioner

I guess that’s what you call me, now that I’ve attended my first concert. Woohoo–I’m a Directioner! Sounds exciting, doesn’t it?

One Direction

If you’re a fifteen-year-old, maybe. But I’m not. I’m considerably older. However, you’re never too old to have fun and that’s what I did–accompanied by my fifteen-year-old daughter. I attended a One Direction concert and it was fun! Big fun.

We flew to Pittsburgh for the occasion. Baltimore, MD was the farthest south they ventured this year so we had no choice. Hmph. Perhaps it’s too hot in the south, come summer. Possibly.

the boy up close

Anyhow, it was a great excuse to fly to Pittsburgh. We ate delicious pizza, enjoyed the river views and generally had a glorious time together. And that’s most important. In a few years, my daughter will be in college. She’ll chase One Direction with her girlfriends instead of her mother. She’ll travel and explore, and I’ll be watching all the action from afar. Hopefully, we’ll have more trips in our future, but one never knows.

So as they say, Carpe Diem! Even if that does mean sitting through a boy band concert at fifty. 🙂 Incidentally, one thing I found interesting and “aging” at the same time was the use of cell phone flashlights across the crowd.

lights across the crowd

We used to use lighters. (Do they even make those, anymore?)

Ugh. Things do change!!!!

Posted on August 3, 2015, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Regarding lighters, I had made reference to a Bic lighter in one of my blogs this week and discovered that Bic has an app with which you hold your phone aloft, and it will flick a Bic for you. You’re welcome. 🙂

  2. Wow. There really is “an app for that!”

