You Can’t Have It All If You Try to Do It All

Prague astronomical clockPriorities. We’ve all got them. That constant tension between what we must do and what we want to do.

On this celestial sphere we live on, we’re bound to just 24 hours in a day. This is a hard limit I’ve been fighting since college, without success.

Once again, I’ve taken on too much. Activities that seemed manageable have spiraled out of control, leaving me without enough time to write.

I need to write.

It can be difficult to admit that something you enjoy—something that’s satisfying and makes you feel like you’re contributing—is getting in the way of a higher priority goal.

When that happens, it’s time to step back and reassess.

If we want to reach our dreams, sometimes we have to do less instead of more. Less of things that distract us. Less of things that sap our energy.

Pushing ourselves by working more hours isn’t an effective solution. We need down time. Good exercise and good sleep make us more productive.

Writers cannot live by caffeine alone.

So here I am, re-evaluating my priorities and shedding activities that I wish I had time for but don’t.

And by doing that, with any luck, I’m getting a few steps closer to my dreams.

Do you try to do too much? How do you find balance? 

(Photo Copyright: olgacov / 123RF Stock Photo)

About AndreaJWenger

Andrea J. Wenger is an award-winning writer and editor in Raleigh, North Carolina. She specializes in the fields of creative, technical, and freelance writing.

Posted on August 26, 2015, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I find my balance by unplugging…. Which is difficult as I run a newsy blog… But I never get my own writing done. So I have scheduled sharesies time. That’s freed me up.

  2. That darn multi-tasking gene women have is one of our biggest challenges. I need to write doesn’t really express the situation. It’s like Hangry=hungry and angry. I get wrangry=no writing + angry. The floors are no longer spotless. The laundry piles up, but it’s clean, as are the dishes in the dishwasher that I park on the counter rather than put away…Balance is a constant dance.

  3. Tracy, unplugging is a great idea. I need to do that more often.

    Linda, I agree, the house doesn’t need to be spotless! Sometimes you do what needs to be done and nothing more.

  4. Great advice, Andrea! I pulled out of some obligations in order to get my latest book done and I’ve never regretted that decision. There are only so many hours in the day. Good luck juggling all the balls in the air!

  5. Thanks, Christy. I’m slowly learning to say no, even to things I really want to do.

  6. It’s all true, Andrea. I see it in my personal life, where I’ve had to lay some desires aside, and I see it at my workplace (where I’ll be for only two weeks more, thank goodness), where too much is initiated and attempted for the sake of “success” and revenue, but that wears everyone and everything too thin and with weak outcomes.

  7. That’s exactly it, Janna. Everything looks so bright and shiny when it first crosses our desk. It can take a lot of willpower to avoid that kind of temptation.

