When You Feel Like A Salmon

Keep swimming.

That’s how I feel these days, like I’m swimming against the current. How do I expand my reach, boost my discoverability factor? There’s a sea of books on the market, a torrent of good stories to choose from. It’s overwhelming. For me as a reader, finding that next great book to enjoy can be a challenge. Do I want romance or mystery? Espionage or intrigue? Do I want an established author or do I want to try someone new?

An indangered Chum Salmon, Oncorhynchus keta, (aka. Dog Salmon) attempts to jump a small dam on the Deschutes River in Tumwater Washington. The concrete in the foreground is the opening to a fish ladder.

As an author, it’s proves a different challenge. How do I reach readers looking for stories like mine? Book fairs, expos, online, social media–potential readers are everywhere, but I can’t be. How do we connect? Word of mouth, freebie giveaways or glittery ad banners?

Maybe I should join Kimberly in her yoga endeavor. Might calm my energy, streamline my thought process. Would probably improve my sleep, too! But seriously, as I find myself counseling my high school daughter on her education going forward, I find myself drawing on the tried and true words of wisdom. “Love what you do.” You’ll be doing a lot of it. “Don’t give up.” The time will pass anyway.

“Stay true to your dreams, and your dreams will stay true to you.” Persistence pays. Perseverance makes you stronger. **breathe** Life is a journey to be enjoyed, right?

Posted on October 26, 2015, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I know how you feel! Getting my books in front of readers then getting them to leave reviews so more people will find my books…I am swimming in a circle! Thanks for letting me know I am in good company.
    Nancy Lee Badger
    author of My Hunted Highlander

  2. Discoverability is something all authors struggle with, unless they’re one of the lucky ones whose publishing house dedicates a ton of resources to. And even then, they don’t always take off. If you don’t love what you’re doing, it’s easy to give up. But when I’m writing fiction, I’m not thinking about anything else. I’m totally immersed. That’s a gift I wouldn’t trade for anything.

