Make Much of Time

autumn leavesIn the book I’m currently reading, the main character’s 57-year-old father says at one point, “I know I’m old…”

No, author, you’re displaying the folly of youth. People in their fifties don’t think they’re old. They think, what the hell happened? How is Steven Tyler almost 70? How could Back to the Future have come out 30 years ago? And if Madonna still looks that good in a leotard, then I couldn’t possibly be older than 29, right?

The older you get, the faster time moves, until finally you don’t feel it moving at all. You think you’ve got time for all the things you’ve planned for today, but then you blink and it’s next week.

I’m finding that I really need to be careful about time, because it gets away from me too easily otherwise. I have to schedule things (especially time to write), or I won’t get to it until it becomes an emergency. I hate schedules, but I don’t have a choice.

I didn’t used to be like this. From the time I was in college, I felt that days were too short, but I managed to get things done. Now, hours pass like minutes. All too often, I want those hours back.

Maybe it’s getting older, or maybe it’s the time sucking properties of the Internet. It’s probably a combination of the two. The older I get, the more I realize that I need to be cognizant of time. Because there’s not as much left as there used to be.

Do you find that time moves faster as you get older? What time management tricks work best for you? 

Image Copyright: funlovingvolvo / 123RF Stock Photo

About AndreaJWenger

Andrea J. Wenger is an award-winning writer and editor in Raleigh, North Carolina. She specializes in the fields of creative, technical, and freelance writing.

Posted on October 28, 2015, in Blog Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I totally agree that time is going so much faster with age! The internet is a huge time suck, so avoidance helps me not lose time. Glad I’m not the only one wondering where the decades went.

