Letting Go

I’ve been struggling with how to let go of my teenage daughter. I know it’s my job as her mother, her parent, to let her go, but I confess it’s a difficult one. Will she be ready? Will she be strong? Will she head out into the world on her own with the fearless outlook of youth?

After the events of the weekend, my struggle is intensified. My daughter and I have discussed the possibility of her studying abroad. We’ve discussed traveling to Europe this summer and beyond.

I’m having second thoughts. I realize terrorism should not be allowed to deter me, but it does. It gives me pause. Violence happens on US soil every day…from isolated home invasions to random acts of gang violence or the misdeeds of bored, desperate youth, violence happens all around us, yet we live. We persevere. And we must continue to do so, in spite of the attacks in Paris.

In the wake of these awful events, my thoughts and prayers go out to the people of France, the tourists that were only there to enjoy tparishe “city of lights.” My heart stands with every parent, every spouse, every brother and sister who have lost a loved one. Moreover, I stand with their strength and determination–to pursue their freedom, their lifestyles, and their vow to stop this violence from continuing.

We must let go of fear and embrace love. It’s the only way forward.

Posted on November 16, 2015, in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It was an unspeakable tragedy with no easy solution. Prayers are the best we can do at this point. This parenting thing isn’t easy…

  2. Not easy at all! And definitely no easy solutions… 😦 I know each generation professes life is more crazy and dangerous, but these ARE crazy times.

