Bringing the Christmas cheer

It’s three weeks until Christmas, y’all, and I’ve not put a single decoration out. Not one. There are no lights on my house, no tree in my living room, no wreaths on my door, and let’s not even talk about the pumpkins rotting on my front porch. I know, I know. I need to get busy, but honestly, the idea exhausts me.

When the kids were little, I used to go all out. I hung stockings and made my own table arrangements and put trees in every room and draped everything in greenery. I cooked and even baked.

But now that the kids are older, I can’t talk myself into lugging a couple of boxes up from the basement. When did the holidays get to be such a chore?

If I step back and consider things rationally, it’s not the decorating that’s made Christmas lose it’s sparkle for me, but the keeping-up-with-the-Joneses mentality that pushes me to do it. Because here’s the thing. I’m done keeping up. I have nothing to prove to anyone, the Joneses or otherwise. The Joneses can suck it.

So maybe this year, any lights I put up should be because I think they’re pretty. Any tree I put up should be so that I can admire my favorite ornaments. And any food I make should be because my family and I want to eat — oh, who am I kidding? I’ll probably order the food, but the point is, I don’t have to do anything. The only people I care to please are the ones under my own roof.

And when I think about it that way, the holidays suddenly don’t seem so exhausting.

About Kimberly S. Belle

Kimberly Belle grew up in Eastern Tennessee, in a small town nestled in the foothills of the Appalachians. A graduate of Agnes Scott College in Decatur, Georgia, Kimberly lived for over a decade in the Netherlands and has worked in marketing and fundraising for various nonprofits. She's the author of two novels, THE LAST BREATH and THE ONES WE TRUST (August 2015). She divides her time between Atlanta and Amsterdam. Keep up with Kimberly on Facebook (www.facebook.com/KimberlyBelleBooks), Twitter (@KimberlySBelle), or via her website at www.kimberlybellebooks.com.

Posted on December 4, 2015, in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. When you are ready, go to Bed, Bath & Beyond and get the Star Shower Laser lights. One device will light your whole house, and it even turns on and off at dusk and dawn. Couldn’t be easier! Hope the holiday spirit finds you eventually–for you, not your neighbors!

  2. Absolutely! Well said, Kimberly.

