And the New Year Means…?

2016 is a big year for my family. My oldest graduates from high school and heads to college. My youngest just got her driver’s license and is off to parts unknown. My husband and I spend our time planning our “empty nester” stage in ways that both excite and frighten me to no end.fireworks

And the writing? Well, I’ve hit a snag. Last year, after finishing The Power of Faith When Tragedy Strikes by Chris and Terry Norton, my head was a mess–my creative head. Toward the end of the project, I couldn’t wait to get back to fiction where I could just make stuff up. I thought I was ready to dive head first back into my abandoned series, but after reading the first two books and a novella, I couldn’t find my mojo.

So I did what I always did whenever I got stuck. I read craft books–the ones that inspired me and guided me through every book I wrote.

Nada.

I reread my favorite authors.

Nope.

I decided to take the holidays off and not think about it for awhile. Enjoy the family, eat lots of food, and worry about it in 2016.

Now 2016 is here, and I’m starting to feel the fire again. I read some fantastic stuff out of my genre and signed up for an online class that begins today. When my laptop recently died, and along with it my floundering work in progress, I could have taken it as a sign to quit or take a little longer time off. Instead, I took it as a sign to email my files to my home computer and get back to finding the joy.

I’ll let you know how how it turns out, but things are looking up. What does the New Year mean to you?

photo credit: Happy New Year !!! via photopin (license)

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on January 4, 2016, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Christy,

    I feel like we are in the same boat. Any time I think about starting sowmthing new, guilt overwhelms me for not finisheing the current project.

    Maybe we have “senioritis”. Baby boys about to go to college are sure to mess with our heads.

    • It’s too easy to blame the senior, but I do think such a major change has me feeling a bit unsettled. I hope this class helps, and if so, you’ll be the first to know!

  2. I’ve discovered that exhaustion, worry, and fear all steal creativity away from us. Sometimes it’s all three. Sometimes it’s just one. Whatever stole your mojo, I’m so glad that you got it back, Christy. Happy New Year and Happy Writing!!!

