Blog Archives

Chakras: The Center(s) of You

Are you familiar with the seven chakras, which are the body’s energy centers, and are rooted in ancient Eastern religion? Meditating on and giving conscious awareness to them, regularly, creates a fullness of self and healthy being, as well as promotes stronger spirituality. It might sound hokey, but it’s true. Cross my heart chakra and hope to die.chakras_0

Here’s a quick intro.

(These names may vary from source to source, and the descriptions of the life aspects and abilities they affect are my own, derived from what I’ve learned and how I’ve come to embrace them for myself.)

(1) root chakra — base of trunk — connection to the earth; a feeling of “home” and comfort, grounding, no matter where you find yourself

(2) sacral chakra — low belly — insight and understanding, especially in relation to others

(3) solar plexus chakra — upper abdomen, just beneath the rib cage — relaxation, competency, without worry

(4) heart chakra — behind the breastbone — warmth, openness, compassion, gratitude

(5) throat chakra — throat — confidence and a strong voice, self-expression (your truths)

(6) third eye chakra — that space between your eyes — vision and empathy

(7) crown chakra — crown of head — connection to God and the Universe; personality, perception, intuition

Do you have a few minutes? Are you in a peace-filled spot? Read through those again, study the diagram. Consciously find each center in your body (do this mentally — unless it helps to physically touch your brow or your breastbone, etc., no one’s looking) and imagine clarity. Impress upon yourself strength in each of the described capacities.

It was more than a year ago now that I first began studying the chakras, and actively unleashing, so to speak, the calm power they hold. I find that when I’m especially anxious or unfocused, and feel like life and my peace are out of alignment, a few minutes in meditation brings me back.

There’s a rich awareness, a whole spirituality, a fullness in the universe and God’s control to be found when you can give over negativity, doubt, fear, whatever holds you back or consumes your life, to these energy centers.

To summarize:


Chakra, Pinterest

I’d like to challenge you to seek renewal in this way, and find for yourself — it’s gonna sound hokey again — the benefits that come from chakra awareness.

But don’t do it for me. Do it for yourself!


If you’re interested, here’s a related post I wrote on my Woman, Determined blog last spring. That’s when I recognized the harmonies between the long-established Eastern chakras and Gary Zuvak’s book, The Heart of the Soul: Emotional Awareness.

The 7 Chakras: Because Energy is Important

Peace Is the Way

Peace buttonsIn my last post, I mentioned that I had signed up for the 21-day “Expanding Your Happiness” Meditation Experience from Deepak Chopra and Oprah Winfrey. It’s been an interesting 3 weeks, forcing myself to sit quietly for 20 minutes a day, while getting ready for a book launch.

One of the most memorable meditations was the one on serenity. Chopra quoted the saying, “There is no way to peace. Peace is the way.”

With so much war in the news right now, that saying seems particularly apt. You can’t fight your way to peace. Maybe you can fight your way to domination. But the discontent will continue to stir.

The only way you can truly find peace is to make peace your starting point. To reject the idea of conflict. To live and let live.

And if that’s true, then peace is a choice.

Now, don’t get me wrong. Peace isn’t easy. Not unless everyone around you also chooses peace, which they won’t.

But the decision of whether to engage is yours. When someone disagrees with you, you can argue, or you can stop talking.

It seems I’m constantly relearning this lesson. In the echo chamber that is Facebook, I’ll occasionally try to make a point that differs by maybe five percent from what the other commenters are saying. Utter waste of time. No one cares what you think, unless you’re agreeing with them. There’s a place for discourse, but Facebook isn’t it.

Life is too short to argue with people who aren’t listening. As long as they’re not hurting anyone, let them have their opinions, even if they’re demonstrably wrong. Peace is about choosing serenity inside yourself, and engaging positively with others when you can. And when you can’t, the best use of your time is to walk away.

As the prayer says, accept the things you cannot change.

I’m still working on that one.

What about you? How do you find serenity?

%d bloggers like this: